Writing Myths

I recently came across a prompt on Facebook about writing myths. There are 20 prompts, and I thought it would be a good exercise in writing. I’ve been batting some ideas around in my head about them, so I thought I’d share a few and see what people think. I’m going to write them in a short story context, but we all know I’m long winded, so we’ll see….

Here are the prompts:

image

Several of these, I know the reason of them because of, well, science. But I am going to attempt to put that out of my mind and write a myth based on what I think people would have believed if they didn’t know the truth.

Feedback is always welcome!

7 comments

  1. Plant Electrician · November 1, 2015

    The moon changes shape because one day the sun was teasing the moon because the sun was so much brighter. The moon replied, “Yeah, but can you do this?”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zezee · November 1, 2015

    This is great for DigiWriMo, which I’m still considering to participate in though it’s now November 1. I’m saving this prompt. Thanks for sharing it.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Writing Myths #1: Why the sun rises and sets | Zezee with Books
  4. finnwest2015 · November 2, 2015

    Great post Jason!
    Finn

    Like

Leave a Reply

