Fantasy Music Festival

image

I’m assuming since this is MY festival, I can choose any band from anytime.

Opening my festival in the first spot would be Queen. Freddie Mercury would get the crowd going, the band as a whole would have a great energy. Everyone would get into the hits like “We Will Rock You”, “We Are The Champions”, “Fat Bottomed Girls”, “I Want To Break Free”, and “Somebody To Love”. The crowd would also rediscover some of their less popular songs like “Death On Two Legs”, “The Show Must Go On”, “Seven Seas Of Rhye”, and “Who Wants To Live Forever”. They’d go on with the show and more favorites like “Killer Queen”, “Good Old-fashioned Lover Boy”, “Another One Bites The Dust”, “Crazy Little Thing Called Love”, “God Save The Queen” and then David Bowie would join them on stage for “Under Pressure” and they’d end the show with “Bohemian Rhapsody”.

The next band on my stage would be Fleetwood Mac. Every member would be getting along. They’d perform their hits “Rhiannon”, “Landslide”, “Dreams”, “Don’t Stop”, “Go Your Own Way”, “The Chain”, “Gold Dust Woman”, “Little Lies”, “and “Silver Springs”. Because they were all getting along so well, they’d even throw in a few Stevie Nicks solo hits like “Edge Of Seventeen”, “Planets Of The Universe”, “Crystal”, “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” and “If You Ever Did Believe”.

Up on stage in the third spot of my fantasy music festival is Aerosmith. They concentrate heavily on their hits starting with “Sweet Emotion”, “Toys In The Attic”, “Come Together”, “Dude (Looks Like A Lady)”, “Rag Doll”, “Love In An Elevator”, “Janie’s Got A Gun”, “Livin’ On The Edge”, “Pink”, “What Kind Of Love Are You On” and “Jaded”. They’d do several of their love ballads in a row, at my request (get over it) “Angel”, “Cryin'”, “Amazing”, “Crazy”, “What It Takes”, “Hole In My Soul”, “Fly Away From Here”. Then they’d pick it up again with “Just Push Play”, “Sunshine”, and “Girls of Summer” and their take on the Spider-Man theme which was pretty hot.  As a finale, they’d come back with “I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing”, “Dream On”, and finish with “Walk This Way”.

Next up is Cake. Not as well known as some of my other acts, but a great band that isn’t afraid to add a little humor. All of their hits will be played, “Short Skirt, Long Jacket”, “Never There”, “No Phone”, “Jesus Wrote A Blank Check”, “Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps”, “The Distance”, “Sad Songs And Waltzes”, “Sheep Go To Heaven”, “Frank Sinatra”. Also their takes on a few cover songs I’ve heard them do, “Ruby, Don’t Take Your Love To Town”, “Strangers In The Night”, and “Mrs. Robinson”.  They will end with their jam band take of “I Will Survive”.

Next to last in my fantasy music festival is Garbage. This set will be a lot longer than the previous ones because, well because I said so. It’s my fantasy. To start off the band will begin their set with a few popular favorites “Special”, “Only Happy When It Rains”, “Stupid Girl”, “I Think I’m Paranoid”, “Push It”, “Vow”, “Medication”, “Androgyny”, “Breaking Up The Girl”, “Bad Boyfriend”, “Bleed Like Me”, and “Milk”. They will go into a few of my favorites, “Temptation Waits”, “Wicked Ways”, “You Look So Fine”, “When I Grow Up”, “The Trick Is To Keep Breathing”, “Can’t Cry These Tears”, “Cup Of Coffee”, “So Like A Rose”, “Drive You Home”, “It’s All Over But The Crying”, “Not Your Kind Of People”. They will end their set with a few picks by me, “Nobody Loves You”, and their two great soundtrack hits “#1 Crush” and “The World Is Not Enough” from the James Bond movie.

The last act at my festival is the one, the only, The Beatles. All four of them are alive and well and getting along. They start with their early hits, “I Want To Hold Your Hand”, “Love Me Do”, “She Loves You”, “From Me To You”, “Can’t Buy Me Love”, “A Hard Day’s Night”, “Eight Days A Week”, “I Feel Fine”, “Help!”, “Ticket To Ride”, and “Day Tripper”. Then going on into their middle years, “We Can Work It Out”, “Paperback Writer”, “Penny Lane”, “Yellow Submarine”, “Eleanor Rigby”, “All You Need Is Love”, and “Hello, Goodbye”. Then moving onto some of their later (and better in my opinion) work, “Lady Madonna”, “Hey Jude”, “Revolution”, “Get Back”, “The Ballad Of John And Yoko”, “Something”, “Come Together”, “Let It Be”, and “The Long And Winding Road”. Those are all their number one hits. Afterwards they will play some great songs that may not have charted as high, but are still amazing songs (I’m reading them in alphabetical order off of Wikipedia, so not necessarily in this order), “Across The Universe”, “All My Loving”, “Baby’s In Black”, “Back In The USSR”, “Because”, “A Day In The Life”, “Dear Prudence”, “Do You Want To Know A Secret”, “Don’t Let Me Down”, “Drive My Car”, “The Fool On The Hill”, “Free As A Bird”, “Girl”, “Good Day Sunshine”, “Happiness Is A Warm Gun”, “Helter Skelter”, “Here Comes The Sun”, “Here, There, and Everywhere”, “Hold Me Tight”, “I Am The Walrus”, “I Feel Fine”, I Saw Her Standing There”, “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)”, “If I Fell”, “In My Life”, “I’ve Just Seen A Face”, “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds”, “Magical Mystery Tour”, Maxwell’s Silver Hammer”, “Michelle”, “Mother Nature’s Son”, “Nowhere Man”, “Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da”, “Oh, Darlin'”, “Real Love”, “Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band”, “Something”, “Strawberry Fields Forever”, “Taxman”, “Till There Was You”, “Twist And Shout”, “When I’m Sixty-Four”, “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”, “Why Don’t We Do It In The Road”,  and “With A Little Help From My Friends”.  A great end to a great festival.

Who would your 6 be?

2 comments

  1. finnwest2015 · September 21, 2015

    Great post Jason!
    For me, it would be the following 5:
    5. The Violent Femmes
    4. The Rolling Stones
    3. Nirvana
    2. Radiohead
    1. The Beatles

    Finn xx

    Like

    • jasinrockgod · September 21, 2015

      Great list Finn! Nirvana would be awesome, so would the Stones!

      Like

Leave a Reply

