Day 15: 30 Day Writing Challenge

Today’s topic is supposed to be my favorite tumblr pages. Except I no longer use tumblr, and when I did, it was to look at naughty things, and I’m not running that type of blog here.

So instead I’m going to blog about my favorite quotes. I don’t often include quotes in my writing, as I have a horrible memory and I fear misquoting people. But I will double check these as I go.

“My only love sprung from my only hate”. This is from William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. This quote has always resonated with me because I was raised in a very homophobic society (it was the Eighties after all), and being gay at one time just made me feel guilty. It was like loving someone your parents hated.

“What would an angel say? The devil wants to know.” from the song Criminal by Fiona Apple. I’m not a religious person, but this line has always meant something to me on a personal level. I’ve not always been a “good boy” to the people I should have been, and I’ve often wondered what I should have done differently.

“Give me liberty or give me death!” said by Patrick Henry in 1775 at the end of a speech promoting raising militias against the British. I agree, I’d rather be dead than have to suppress my freedom. I will fight for it, but I refuse to lose it entirely.

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened” by Dr. Seuss. My sentiments exactly.

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent” by Eleanor Roosevelt in her book This Is My Story. This is very true, if you don’t stand up for yourself, you are giving them permission to walk all over you.

“Insanity is doing the same things, over and over again, but expecting different results”. This is from narcotics anonymous, though it has been mis-attributed to Mark Twain, Ben Franklin, and Albert Einstein. It’s very true, if you keep doing the same things, you will get the same results.

“Life is what happens to you while you are busy making other plans” said by Allen Saunders. If you are always planning the “next big thing” you miss all the little instances of greatness that is life.

“I have not failed. I have just found 10,000 ways that won’t work” said by Thomas Edison. Never look at anything as failure, only a learning experience.

“I solemnly swear that I’m up to no good” J. K. Rowling from Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I just love it.

“There is no friend as loyal as a book” Ernest Hemingway. True story! Books can be there for you like no one else. They don’t judge you. They help you through problems. The answer your questions. Books are awesome.

I have a lot of favorite quotes. But these are ten great ones.

Tomorrow’s topic: my views on mainstream music (that ought to be interesting).

3 comments

  1. finnwest2015 · September 2, 2015

    Would have preferred your fave tumble pages bro. Naughty or not dude

    Like

  2. Mario · September 3, 2015

    These are great! I’ve liked the Dr. Seuss one for ages, it rings very true!

    “There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don’t.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

