Day 4: 30 Day Writing Challenge

Today’s topic is my views on religion. Another one I’ve touched on before, but worth a revisit.

I was raised in a Methodist home. We weren’t strict religious, but it was always there creeping in the background. My grandparents, on both sides, were strict church goers. Every Sunday. Fortunately, my parents were not. My mom would take us on special occasions, Easter, Christmas, things like that, but we rarely went just because it was Sunday. Unless it was a wedding or funeral, I can’t remember my dad ever going to church.

I wasn’t raised with a bunch of people preaching at me, or trying to get me to believe their dogma. Maybe that’s why I feel the way I do, maybe I was just fortunate, or maybe my parents had the foresight to let me decide for myself what I wanted to believe. Who knows.

Whatever the case, I do not believe in religion. I have no inclination to believe it because of science and morals. I cannot get behind any religion that tries to claim the Earth is only 6,000 years old when there is scientific proof there are things millions of years older on this planet (let alone the stuff we haven’t found in the rest of the universe yet). I can’t get behind the notion there is one “God” that created everything, down to the last person, animal, plant, and dust particle when science can clearly show you the process of evolution.

I can’t get behind the thought that the way people should act is clearly described in an outdated text. Use common sense and you could figure that out. You don’t need a book to tell you.

I can’t believe that a “God” tells you not to judge one another, and to be kind to your neighbor, but then condones killing of those that do not believe.  I don’t believe that there should be ANY fighting over beliefs, if you do not agree with someone’s beliefs do not associate with that person. Plain and simple. There should be no fighting to prove one religion is better than another….and definitely no killing.

I definitely don’t believe that forcing your religious beliefs on others is good, in any form. Politicians are horrible at this, THEY  don’t believe something is right because of their religious views and therefore all of their constituents feel the same…not true. There is a separation of church and state for a reason. This country was founded on the premise of religious freedom, not to endure the very persecution that our ancestors endured in Europe (or where ever) centuries ago. God and religion have no place in government.

I do NOT, however, condemn people who do believe. That is their right to believe what they want. I would never take that away from anyone, any more than I would want someone to take away my right to not believe.

That’s my view. You can believe what you want, with no judgement from me. But keep it to yourself or your like minded friends/family.

Tomorrow’s topic: A Time I thought about ending my own life.

Leave a Reply

