Fat Guy Enjoys Fitness (You Can Do It)

Several months ago, I weighed myself (sometime in the early spring) and was surprised to find myself at 235 pounds. I’m only 5′ 10″, and most of that weight was in my mid-section. Not that I try to impress anyone, you either like me or you don’t, but I wasn’t happy with MYSELF. I tried the dieting thing, but it wasn’t going well. I lack the will power for a diet when there are entirely too many free donuts and cupcakes and cookies at work. Eventually, I got so frustrated with my (non) weight loss, I hid the scale in the closet. If I can’t see it, it isn’t taunting me, right?

I’ve been going to the gym for two weeks now. At first I was afraid (I was petrified….if you got that, good for you), I didn’t know what the stuff in there was for, nor seen it used. It kind of reminded me of a shiny torture chamber. But my work buddy, Johnny,  convinced me to go, so I went. I thought, “I can just get on the treadmill, that can’t be too hard”, though I didn’t know how to work it. But I figured it out after hitting all the buttons at least once to see what happened. Got to love the old trial and error method!

The first day was okay. I walked 3 miles. No jogging, no running, barely even changed pace. But I did it. At least having someone I knew there helped distract me from the fact I was exercising…in public.

The second day, Johnny couldn’t meet me, but I thought if I started something, I should continue. So I went alone. Fortunately, I had the room to myself, so that made it easier. I did my 3 miles and went home. I was both proud of myself for going alone, and saddened that I didn’t push myself for more.

The third day, Johnny was back and I did push myself a bit. I made it 4 miles, but still at a walking pace. I was still getting used to the treadmill, and while I had a dedicated attitude, didn’t want to go too fast.

At the beginning of this second week, I ran. Granted, I lasted about 5 minutes, but I gave it a shot. I made it 4 miles again though. I got brave for the first time in months though and pulled the scale out of the closet. I was down to 191. Now, I’m aware that didn’t happen solely from the four days I had on a treadmill, but it was motivation to keep going.

The next time, the air conditioning was out, so I only did 2.5 miles. I felt like I wimped out, but I just couldn’t deal with the heat. It’s been hot and muggy here in Cincinnati, and it surprisingly felt better outside than it did in the gym.

Today, I pushed myself. I did 5.63 miles (did a set time rather than distance this time round), with both walking and jogging. I’m hoping I can keep it up.

I’m actually enjoying the fitness. It isn’t as horrible as I thought it would be. Next week I’m thinking of adding arms to my routine. I’m excited, but anxious, about that.

Baby steps!

One comment

  1. James · August 1, 2015

    Baby-steps is the way. I went from fat and unfit to running a marathon (very slowly…) a few years back. Somehow I’ve made it back to fat and unfit again but I’m much less depressed about it than I used to be…

    Like

Leave a Reply

