VICTORY

I’m very emotional right now, so this post may, at some point, go off the rails…

Today, Friday, June 26, 2015, the Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) brought down their 5-4 decision that marriage equality is now in ALL 50 states. That makes the USA the 25th country in the world with nationwide marriage equality.

It has been a long and difficult fight to win this battle, and the war isn’t over, but this has been the biggest win in the name of love, by far. No more discrimination, no more fights, no more crossing state lines to find a legal marriage. It can no longer be the fight for “gay marriage”, or “same-sex marriage”, it can be what it is: marriage. It needs no adjective to describe it.

I was told about the ruling at work. I wanted to cry. Tears of joy, tears of relief, and tears of happiness. No sadness for me today. I did NOT cry until I got home, and have been doing off and on for the past hour and a half. I have never been more proud of a legal decision in my life. Not that there weren’t important ones, just this one directly involved me.

image

I have not seen my husband yet, he had a doctor’s appointment, so he isn’t home yet, but I imagine we are going to have an emotional evening.  We text and called each other earlier. It was like having a whole different conversation. Knowing the man I love on the other end of the call could one day be LEGALLY my husband. Until this morning, it had been illegal here in Ohio.

I know there are couples that have been waiting far longer than the ten years we have been together to get married. I know there are others that have already beat us to the punch in the marriage race. But I know that won’t make our “someday” marriage any less special. Neither of us has officially proposed, there was no need to before today. We would have had to cross state lines to get married and not have it recognized once we got home. It seemed pointless.

The internet is all abuzz with the news today. The countless videos and stories have made me an emotional wreck. But I will not stop reading them, will not stop watching them, and will not stop feeling proud of my country today.

image

The whole slogan of this epic win today is Love Wins. I could not have thought of a better phrase. Love is all we are asking for, and for that love to be as legal as everyone else’s.

image

Of course, there are still people hating the situation. Elected officials everywhere are trying to find a loop hole that allows them to put a stop to something that does not concern them. Let them continue their bigotry, it just shows how narrow minded and stubborn they are. I think the best (worst) news story I heard was a southern Baptist minister was going to set himself on fire if this passed. Well, Sir, it would be sad to hear of your passing over something so wonderful, but go ahead. If you feel the need to die over love that isn’t even yours, far be it from me to stop you. I know that sounds mean, but I cannot, will not, stop loving my husband over one person’s opinion.

President Barack Obama gave a moving speech after the decision this morning. He said “Sometimes there are days like this, when that slow, steady effort is rewarded with justice that arrives like a thunderbolt.” He went on to add “It is a consequence of the countless small acts of courage of millions of people across decades who stood up; who came out; who talked to parents, parents who loved their children no matter what; folks who were willing to endure bullying and taunts, and stayed strong, and came to believe in themselves, and who they were. And, slowly, made an entire country realize that love is love.”. Well said Mr. President. Love is Love.

Love is Love. Love always wins. Thank you SCOTUS, for letting that happen, for letting it be recognized, and for letting the LGBT community know that you are on our side.

5 comments

  1. DD's Thought Card · June 26, 2015

    Yay! I am so happy for you and for us all!

    Like

  2. lovetotrav · June 27, 2015

    As a family we were celebrating. So excited and relieved to put an end to this step. Thank you for this post. I had just read one by someone I had “followed” who completely upset me (tears in my eyes.. and not the good kind of tears) so I really needed your’s to cheer me up again. Have a beautiful wonderful weekend.

    Like

  3. Barb Knowles · June 28, 2015

    It is impossible to add anything to what you wrote. It is a proud and historic day to be an American.

    Like

Leave a Reply

