Pool and/or Beach Season

Summer is here, kids. Not “officially” for another ten days or so, but the weather is here already. Today in Cincinnati, it’s supposed to be great weather. Sunny and 92 degrees. That got me thinking about going to the pool. Well, actually, my husband suggested it yesterday, but I brushed it off as it was 5 pm and I don’t enjoy being in a pool filled with rambunctious children.

But deep down, the real reason I always avoid pools, and beaches, and being shirtless anywhere is because I’m not in the best shape. I mean technically, round is a shape, but not the one you want to flaunt in public. At least I don’t. Not that it’s anything to be proud of, but in general, gay men are extremely judgmental about the appearance of others. To my knowledge, we (my husband and I) are the only homosexual people that live in our complex. I’m sure there are more, but we don’t know them. So why am I so self conscious of being ridiculed? Probably because I am no better than the people I am talking about. I judge people’s appearance, so I naturally assume others are doing it to me.

image

I recently read this quote from author Anne Lamott. It makes perfect sense. We’ve all heard the mantra “don’t worry what everyone else thinks of you” or something of the sort. But how many people abide by it? Not many, I’d imagine. In today’s society of perfect bodies and air brushing on magazine covers, I think everyone is too focused on being perfect, when they should be focused on living life.

So, my goal for the next few months is to meet halfway. I’m going to start losing weight, drink more water and less diet soda, eat more salad and less McDonald’s. And on the other hand, I’m going to stop caring what the hell people I don’t know think of me. I vow to be happier this summer!

2 comments

  1. lovetotrav · June 11, 2015

    i hope you are happier this summer too. It seems like a worthwhile endeavor if happiness will result. Best of luck 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

