The Best Beatles Songs (In My Opinion) Part 2

This is part 2 of a 4 part blog. part 1

We are getting there, kids. Here’s my next grouping of Beatles greats.

45. Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da Lyric Video
I love a good story song. Especially about normal people being in love. A super fun cover here. No Doubt also has been known to cover it here.

44. I Am The Walrus Lyric Video
Drugs much? I do enjoy it though.

43. Baby’s In Black Lyric Video
A great waltz style song.

42. Eight Days A Week Lyric Video
Another great love song. Also “eight days a week” became pretty popular slang for “always”. The Beatles were trendsetters. Plus I love any song with claps on the middle. (Clap Clap)

41. Eleanor Rigby Lyric Video
Every one thinks they are alone, this is a great example of how we are all alone, together.

40. Strawberry Fields Forever Lyric Video
I’m not exactly sure what this was supposed to mean at the time, there are numerous theories. But today, Strawberry Fields is a living memorial to John Lennon in Central Park, NYC. Also used in Across The Universe here

39. Come Together Lyric Video
The words don’t make much sense, but the music is amazing. Joe Cocker covered this in Across The Universe  Hear it here.

38. If I Fell Lyric Video
A great love song about being careful with your heart. I love the Beatles version, but I really, really love the haunting version Evan Rachel Wood songs in Across The Universe. Here is the link to her version.

37. From Me To You Lyric Video
Great song from the early years.

36. Help! Lyric Video
I like the message of this song. “When I was younger, so much younger than today, I never needed anybody’s help in any way” I think we all felt that way once.

35. Till There Was You Lyric Video
I love this song. Great love song.

34. Hold Me Tight Lyric Video
Another love song. Also used in Across The Universe here.

33. I Feel Fine Lyric Video
I like the guitar work in this one. It’s early Beatles, but has some licks reminiscent of their later work.

32. Love Me Do Lyric Video
Love is right there in the title again. It’s a recurring theme of theirs, but it sure works! Also, how can you not like a song with harmonica?

31. Penny Lane Lyric Video
Another great story song. A slice of life of what goes on on Penny Lane on a daily basis.

We’re halfway through! Tune into the next part for 30 – 16.

Leave a Reply

