Why I Love Music

I’ve touched on this subject before, but as I plan to incorporate a LOT more musical commentary into this blog, I thought I’d elaborate on the topic. I have a blog-in-waiting about my favorite cover songs, and the idea for a blog about my favorite songs and why they are my favorites.  This is a preemptive blog, if you will.

I’m listening to it right now (Fiona Apple is being angry in my ears). Not a day goes by where I don’t hear music via muzak, commercials, passing cars, background music in tv or movies. It’s everywhere. You can’t escape it. But there are a small number of us here on the big blue marble that hear it more than what is intending to be heard. Then of course there are all the times I hear it on purpose.

Music, for me, has been a saving grace. I’ve been through some rough times in my life (who hasn’t?) and music has always been there for me. Always. It’s like the friend that won’t let you down. The family you can always fall back on. A safety net. It pumps you up, it makes you happy, it calms you down, it can heal a broken heart, lift you out of depression, and make you think.

I have favorites, like every one does, that are my “go to” songs or artists, and there are a few songs and artists I just can’t tolerate at all (you know I’m talking to you, Nickleback). Eventually I’ll talk about them, the good anyway… crap like “The Safety Dance” won’t be getting much press out of me.

Hopefully you all will enjoy what I have to share with you. Or perhaps discover something new, remember a forgotten favorite, or drastically disagree with me and spark a debate (I would love that because I’m weird and love to argue). I plan on including links to the songs whenever possible.

Happy reading listening folks!

4 comments

  1. Barb Knowles · May 25, 2015

    I agree with so much of what you’ve said. I turn to music for fun, for solace, for……….everything. I post about it occasionally, too. I used to have a piano and guitar but for various reasons no longer do. I could lose myself playing. One crazy-ish thing I do is go through periods where I listen to the same song over and over again until I grow totally sick of it. My husband and I went to our 2nd Stevie Nicks concert not too long ago. I’ve been obsessively listening to “Edge of 17” for a while now.

    Like

    • jasinrockgod · May 25, 2015

      I also have a guitar and a piano, but I can barely play either. Stevie Nicks is awesome, I love her and am a bit envious of you for seeing her.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Barb Knowles · May 25, 2015

        I play 3 instruments ranging from mediocre to poorly. I’ve had surgery on both shoulders so I’m limiting myself to listening now πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Chris White · May 27, 2015

    Music enriches our lives in wonderful ways doesn’t it. Food for the soul. 😁 It can communicate so many things.
    All the very best. Kris. 🎢🎢🎢

    Like

Leave a Reply

