My First Award Nomination

I’ve been nominated for the Leibster Award. I’m not sure this an actual award, as people keep getting nominated and well, that would be an endless supply of nominees. Also, who is reading all of these nominations to decide who wins? Where can I send the bribe to ensure I win? I hope you like cookies, dearest committee of deciding who wins, I make awesome cookies.

I’d like to thank The Captain’s Speech for the nomination! His blog makes me laugh often, definitely worth checking out. His recent blog about doorbell etiquette is a particular favorite.

The Rules: (Feel free to break them)

1. Make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.
2. Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post.
3. Nominate 10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. 
4. Answer the ten questions asked to you by the person who nominated you, and make ten questions of your own for your nominees.
5. Copy these rules in the post.
6. ALL THE NOMINEES ARE FREE TO ACCEPT OR REJECT THE NOMINATION.

image

The 10 bloggers I choose to nominate are:

No, YOU Go Outside – awesome blog. Trust me.
creekviewcarol – ever wonder if your pets could use the internet? This answers that question.
HusbandAndHusband – a couple that blogs together.
The Return Of The Modern Philosopher – witty, funny guy.
Amateur Psychologist – enlightening topics

Ok, that’s only 5, but I’m choosing to break the rules. These 5 and The Captain’s Speech are 6 blogs I make sure to read daily. I do read others, but this is my personal creme de la creme, if you will.

The 10 questions asked of me:

1. Describe, in detail, the most awkward situation you’ve ever been in.

Well, as a socially awkward person, I get into a lot of these situations. Not that I seek them out, mind you, but interacting with people just goes so much better in my head.
I’d have to say that the clear winner of the most awkward was when I met my (now) husband’s family for the first time. They welcomed me with open arms…literally, they are hugging people. I am not a hugger, and try to assume that everyone else has personal space issues as I do. But no, I had to hug everyone. EVERYONE. the first couple of years we were together was rough. I had to adapt to the hugging. Also, they knew I didn’t like it so they took advantage and insisted upon it a lot. I’m used to it now, it’s been 10 years after all. In fact there is still no group of people I’d rather hug. Of course, the fact I still hate hugging is irrelevant.

2. When was the last time you used your car horn and why?

I don’t drive, nor have a car. But my husband LOVES his car horn. He honks at slow people, fast cars, loud music from other people’s cars, other general assholery while driving. His most hated, and biggest use of his horn, is people not using their turn signals.

3. If I gave you one million dollars right now (don’t get your hopes up), what would you do with it?

Buy a house. Home ownership is a long term goal for me.

4. What song describes you?

The Difficult Kind by Sheryl Crow. “If you could only see/what love has made of me/ then I’d no longer be in your mind/ the difficult kind/ cause babe I’ve changed”  a bit deep, but the whole song describes me during a difficult period of my life, and due to that time I have been changed.

5. If I put your favourite cake in front of you and said you’d have to wait five hours for utensils and a plate, would you wait, or dig right in and eat it with your hands?

Fat boy loves some cake, so no waiting for me!

6. Out of all the contacts in your phone, how many do you talk/text regularly?

3 of a constant basis. Probably 2 more on a somewhat regular basis.

7. Who is the most famous person you’ve ever met?

Country singer Bryan White. He was relevant in the early to mid nineties…

8. When you wash your hands, do you wet your hands first then apply soap, or do you soap your hands first then apply water?

I went first, then soap. Years of working around food has trained me to also lather for 20 seconds before rinsing too. I was told once that that is the duration of singing “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”, so that’s usually what’s in my head while hand washing.

9. What are your favorite pizza toppings?

Sausage and mushroom. Or any meat really. Not a huge fan of vegetables on a pizza though.

10. What’s your first memory?

I remember when I was very young, my mom bought my dad a new jean jacket. She let me keep the secret of what it was and when the time came to give it to him, I blurted out what it was before he could open it. I’m still not a great secret keeper.

My 10 questions for my nominees:
1. What’s your favorite book?
2. When you were young, what did you want to be when you grew up?
3. What’s the wisest advice anyone gave you?
4. What’s your favorite food?
5. If you could only have one for the rest of your life, would you pick chocolate or coffee?
6. Describe something you did growing up that you should have gotten in trouble for but didn’t?
7. Could you handle being alone, with no human interaction for a day? A week?
8. Are you a morning person or a night owl?
9. What do you think the best movie of all time is and why?
10. What do you think the secret of life is?

3 comments

  1. aayusi · May 16, 2015

    Congrats 😀

    Like

  2. Paul · May 16, 2015

    Well done, thanks for taking part! Does your husband’s family know you’re not a hugger? Perfect answer to the cake question. Sausage and mushroom is a great combo. And the next time I was my hands I’ll have that song running through my head just to try it out.

    Like

    • jasinrockgod · May 16, 2015

      They do know I’m not a hugger. That makes them do it more…

      Like

Leave a Reply

