Overcoming Obstacles

By now, dear readers, I think I’ve made it abundantly clear that I am gay. I’ve overcome the bullying and embraced the stereotypes associated with it. I like who I am and that’s more than most people can say. I’ve learned over the years to quit lashing out at people who do not agree with my life. Instead, I’ve learned to calmly state my opinion, and if they still don’t agree, that’s their business. You can’t please everyone all of the time, I know this. But that is not the only “abnormality” I suffer from. I am prematurely balding. I am left handed. I have bad teeth. I’m not circumcised. I’m not Christian (though I was raised as such). I’m a loner. I am hard of hearing. I do not have a driver’s license, by choice. I’m a recovering drug addict. I have social anxiety. The list could go on and on. 

The only one of my so called “issues” that has ever bothered me is being left handed. Being a leftie in a right handed world does take some getting used to. I also have only about 90% use of my right hand due to a broken arm and nerve damage when I was nine, so I can’t really just “learn to use the proper hand” as I’ve been told before. I have, however, learned to adapt to using my left hand in odd positions. Cooking is an issue when your husband (a rightie) comes in to help. I have all the handles turned to the right so I can use my left with whatever spoon or utensils I am using. He comes in and switches everything the other way. It’s a constant struggle, but a trivial matter in the grand scheme of life. There are left handed tools you can buy, but being married to a right hander, why have two of everything? I’ve spent my life adapting, why should I stop just because I’m an adult? Also, people at buffets hate me moving all the serving spoons, but deal with it.

But my point here is that I have embraced these things about myself, learned to love them, and realized that they are a part of MY life, and no one else’s. It doesn’t matter what other people think of you. Every person needs to find their own happy. Realize what makes you unique, and love it. Own it. No one else can live your life for you, don’t worry about what other people think.

One comment

  1. missymichaels452 · May 1, 2015

    right on, girl

    Like

Leave a Reply

