The Wicked Witch Of The West

So far, I’m having a pretty damn good week. I have three days IN A ROW off of work (one is vacation day), my laundry is done, my dishes are (mostly) done, I got a lot of new books for my kindle today, and in twelve short hours I will be seeing Wicked. I have been dying to see it for years, but have never had the opportunity. I’m the stereotypical gay when it comes to musicals, I know most of them by heart, have seen several live, and sing along with them. But Wicked is my dream.

As a child I LOVED the Wizard Of Oz. I would wait patiently until that once a year it was on TV, this was before cable was available in the rural farm area I grew up in, and I was allowed to stay up late to watch it. I was obsessed with the music, the visuals, and Judy Garland. Little did I know that she was an icon to the community I didn’t even know I was a part of back then.  When I got older, I read the book. Even though it was more strange than the movie, it was still a part of the obsession.

When Gregory Maguire’s book Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West came out, I somehow didn’t even know about it. My husband introduced me to it, and the obsession with the land of Oz was rekindled. I read it, then read it again. I read the sequel, Son of a Witch. Then I read A Lion Among Men, the third installment. The fourth and final installment, Out Of Oz, is one of my new acquisitions today, but I bet I have it read soon. I’m rereading the first three to make sure I miss nothing before I tackle it.

I’m even a huge fan of the film Oz the Great and Powerful that came out a couple years ago, we went and seen it in IMAX 3D. Then I bought it on blu-ray when it came out. The wicked witch even makes an appearance on the tv show Once Upon A Time, which I also tune in to see.

I’ve listened to the soundtrack to the musical about a million times. The original cast (Idina Menzel, Kristen Chenoweth, Joel Gray) version. I know all the songs, and have tried my best not to piece together the story based solely on them. But being the obsessive fan boy I am…

Many children have their favorite obsessions. Spongebob, Dora, Cailou, or whatever it is nowadays, when I was younger, there was the Smurfs, Scooby Doo, and He-Man. But my thing was Oz. Being the nerdy child I was (and still am at heart) I loved getting lost in the story. The fantasy. The magic that was the Land of Oz.

Needless to say I’m totally in my own little nerd heaven this week.

image

Me with Dorothy's Ruby Red slippers at the Smithsonian Museum in Washington, D.C.

Leave a Reply

