A to Z: R is for Relaxation

There are a lot of things people do to relax. There is no right or wrong way to do it, and everyone has their own way(s) of doing it. Reading, meditation, listening to somber music are all popular ways. I find it difficult to actually relax.

I love to read (see just about every blog on my page), but it doesn’t really relax me. I get too caught up in the story, even if I’ve read it before. I love music, and it does take the edge off, but I find I want to sing and/or dance along, so not as relaxing as you might think. I cannot meditate. My mind wonders too much, usually thinking of all the things I should be doing instead of just letting go.

I have found some relaxation in writing, but not as some people would define it. It helps me focus on one thing and one thing only…writing. not worried about how much laundry there is, not if the dishes are done, not what I need to do at work tomorrow, etc. While most of my blog posts do tend to wonder in different directions at times, they usually stay on topic (if not, close to it with a few side thoughts thrown in).

I am also a nap taker. Everyday when I get home from work, I check my Facebook and email, then I take a nap. Fortunately, I am one of those people that lay down and I’m out. Like one of those dolls that close their eyes. I lay down, I’m asleep. I rarely dream (or rarely remember them at least), so it is a bit of a relaxation. I usually wake up to thoughts of “why did I sleep so long? I could have been doing___” though.

I think the greatest stress relief, for me anyway, is knowing I have nothing to do. If I am off of work, the dishes are done, the laundry is caught up, the house is clean-ish (I’m a realist, it’s never going to be perfect…I have cats), those are the times I can sit and read, write, or listen to music without the brain intrusions of things I should do.

I hope everyone can find their own time to relax…

Leave a Reply

