A to Z: M is for Music

Music has, and always will be, a major part of my life. It makes me happy, it’s gotten me through sad times, is background noise while I am performing other tasks, it even helps mend broken hearts.

I have always loved music. I can’t remember it a time when it wasn’t part of my life. My parents both love it also, though there tastes differ from each other. My mom is a country music person. Not that new crap like Taylor Swift, but growing up I remember hearing Dolly Parton, Conway Twitty, Tammy Wynette, George Jones, and more. I still enjoy classic country. As I got older (high school) I listened to country myself…Reba, Garth Brooks, Shania Twain, Travis Tritt, Bryan White…I loved it. Even at one point thought that becoming a country singer myself was a good career choice.

My dad is a classic rock man. He introduced me to the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Credence Clearwater Revival, Motown, The Eagles, and much more. I still enjoy listening to classic rock very much.

Growing up in the Eighties, I learned to love the current music at the time, Whitney Houston, Foreigner, Michael Jackson, Duran Duran, Blondie, Madonna it was great. In middle school I even got into the “hair bands”; Guns-N-Roses, Poison, Bon Jovi, Warrant, etc.

By high school I had a pretty diverse taste in music. Some days I would listen to country, others pop, others rock. I was in two choirs at school, regular choir and the show choir. As gay as it sounds I even got my letter jacket for choir.

When I was in college, I became obsessed with a few artists. Sheryl Crow was a biggie. Garbage was another. Also about that time is when disco was making its first big comeback, I dove into that head first.  Shortly thereafter, I got into more of a rock phase.

This blog post has gone astray, thinking about the music has made me lose the train of thought I was going for, so I’m just going to do a few short lists of things I like…

Favorite Songs:
Strangers in the Night  by Frank Sinatra
The Difficult Kind by Sheryl Crow
Cup Of Coffee by Garbage
Ain’t No Sunshine by Bill Withers (I like the Eva Cassidy cover best)
Anything But Down by Sheryl Crow
Death On Two Legs by Queen
I Don’t Feel Like Dancing by Scissor Sisters
Somebody Stand By Me by both Stevie Nicks and Faith Hill (separately, I like both versions)
Temptation Waits by Garbage
You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me by Dusty Springfield
What It Takes by Aerosmith
Criminal by Fiona Apple
Closer by Nine Inch Nails
I Can’t Tell You Why by The Eagles
Harder Better Faster Stronger by Daft Punk
Til I Can Make It On My Own by Tammy Wynette
Sad Songs And Waltzes by Cake
Gold Dust Woman by Fleetwood Mac
Silly Love Songs by Paul McCartney & Wings
Superstar by Sonic Youth (a cover of the Carpenters song)
To Make You Feel My Love by Garth Brooks
Lookin’ Up by Shelby Lynn
This Train Don’t Stop There Anymore by Elton John
Uninvited by Alanis Morissette
I’ve Got A Right To Cry by Mandy Barnett

That’s my top twenty-five. Subject to change some days, others not.

Favorite Artists:
Sheryl Crow
The Beatles
Queen
Garbage
The Eagles
Elton John
Aerosmith
Cake
Madonna
Whitney Houston
Garth Brooks
Shelby Lynn
Fleetwood Mac
Alanis Morissette
Christina Aguilera
Reba McEntire
Kelly Clarkson

Some notable mentions go to James Taylor, Carole King, Mariah Carey, Michael Jackson, Green Day, The Supremes, The Rolling Stones, and Bob Dylan (only for the genius songwriting, I can’t stand his voice).

I recommend checking all these artist and songs out. They are awesome. There are many many many more songs or artists I’d like to name drop, but I don’t want this post to be a novel.

Leave a Reply

